Choosing the Right Handbag (Part One)

 I initially started my blog in 2009 with the intent of sharing my handbag obsession with the rest of the world. I can shop with the best of them, but now I try to be more cautious about how I spend my money. I don’t impulsively purchase every handbag that tickles my fancy anymore.

First, I consider how long the bag is going to last versus the price. I try to avoid buying cheaply-made bags because I know they aren’t going to last. After you’ve purchased a handful of cheap handbags, you might as well have just saved up for a quality one. Don’t get me wrong though, I am not saying that a big name has to be attached to a bag for it to be considered good quality. Sidenote: I also don’t buy knockoffs…I think it is disingenuous and faux fabulous, but that is a post for another day.

How to Choose Them:

When choosing a handbag, you not only have to consider the price and longevity but you also need to consider your lifestyle. Ask yourself a few questions…Do you carry a lot of things with you on a daily basis? If so, then you may want to consider carrying a large satchel or tote. Do you carry only the bare essentials (i.e. license, keys, debit card, and lipbalm)? If you require very little, then you may want to consider a cross body bag or wrislet. If you go out often, then you may want to invest in some clutch purses as well so that you can leave your grandma purse at home when you go out for a night on the town. What color are you looking for? Go for neutral colors (i.e. black, brown, tan, cognac, etc.) if you are just starting your handbag collection. Otherwise, choose whatever color you want! Don’t be afraid to step outside the box , it’s just a handbag! Let it be another reflection of your personality like the rest of your accessories. Just be mindful of the fact that color from your clothing can transfer onto your handbag (i.e. if you wear dark denim the dye can transfer onto your bag). So be careful with the lighter toned leather handbags.

You also must be mindful of the way in which a bag is made. Does it have a lot of  hardware? Remove all of the tissue (provided that it actually has tissue in it…displays usually do)  and see how heavy it feels when it’s empty. If the handbag is heavy and you haven’t actually put your personal belongings in it yet then you may want to reconsider. Handbags with  a lot of hardware and embellishments are cute but will be a hardship on your shoulders and forearm after a short while. Look at the straps, examine the quality of the stitching on the entire bag. Make sure that the quality of the handbag is up to par.

Lastly, look at the price!! Don’t waste time falling in love with a bag that you cannot afford (although there is nothing wrong with dreaming)! It is better to be prepared so have a price range in mind before you step foot into a department store or you will easily get sidetracked and end up overspending (trust me, I know!). It doesn’t have to be exact, but you do want to have an idea of what you’re going to spend.

To be continued…

I hope this information  is helpful to you. Stay tuned for part two of this post…I will tell you where to find the most fabulous and affordable bags. I’ll also show you what handbags are currently on my wishlist! Smooches!! XOXO

Image Credits: Neiman Marcus

One thought on “Choosing the Right Handbag (Part One)

  1. mekalove says:

    Great insight! I’m learning to put a little research into major purchases. I was actually browsing online on Nordstroms.com a few nights past and I’m moving toward handbags that are discreet on the labeling of their product. Beautiful bags! I’m going to def take my time before making an investment into my next bag. Again, great insight in parts 1 and 2 of choosing the right handbag.

    THANKS Nicole!

Leave a Reply

