Gratitude: The Magic

Yesterday I started reading The Magic by Rhonda Byrne , and it is so amazing that I could not put it down. Basically, she discusses how being grateful for the things you have presently allows you to open yourself up to receive more. She says, “To receive you have to give…Gratitude is giving thanks, and without it, you cut yourself off from the magic and from receiving everything you want in life…”

For the next 27 days (its 28 days in all but I began yesterday) I will begin my day with writing down ten things I am grateful for and why I am grateful for them. She also asks that you read over the things you have written down and say “Thank You” three times to yourself, and through this practice of showing gratitude for what you already have then you will in turn bring more positive things into your life. And when I did this for the first time yesterday, I actually did feel the magnitude of gratefulness. I know it may sound kind of corny, but you will be surprised at how many pleasures you enjoy in life, but fail to acknowledge.

Today I thought that I would post the 10 things I am grateful for here on my blog to perhaps inspire you to do the same. I know I talk a lot about material things, as this blog’s focus is accessories, and I obviously love to shop, but I also try to keep myself grounded. Afterall, you can’t take that Gucci bag or those Christian Louboutins with you when God calls you home, nor will you care anything about them at that point…

Here is my gratitude list for today:

  1. I am grateful for the opportunity to go to Georgetown University and complete my graduate school education because it has broadened my horizons and will offer me more opportunities for improvement in my professional career.
  2. I am grateful for my friends because they are great listeners and wonderful therapists! We do not judge one another and are always there when one of us is in need.
  3. I am grateful for my sisters because not only are they my family, they are my friends, and so many people wish they could have the bond that we have been blessed with…
  4. I am grateful for my parents because they have shown me unconditional love and have taught me to be the woman I am today.
  5. I am grateful for my co-workers because they not only make the day go by quickly, but they also look out for my best interest. As I spend the majority of my day with them, they are like family to me.
  6. I am grateful for my blog and the people who take the time out to read it because it inspires me to keep doing what I am doing. It also is encouraging to know that anyone even cares about little ole me…Lol…
  7. I am grateful for my books, as they teach me how to be a better writer, how to feel and how to look beyond myself. Books take me to whole other worlds…
  8. I am grateful for God’s grace and mercy because without it, I would be lost.
  9. I am grateful for my family in general because they inspire me to be a better person, to help others and to love unconditionally.
  10. I am grateful for my experiences, no matter how challenging they may be, because without a story, without a past, I would never know my own strength.

I know this isn’t a traditional post, but I hope that anyone who comes across it, will get something out of it.

Byrne also wrote The Secret and The Power, neither of which I have read so I cannot give an opinion on those, but I definitely would recommend that you at least look into this book to see if you are interested…Anywho, I hope everyone has a wonderful day! Muah! XOXO…

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

