Inspire Yourself

IMG_4157

My inspiration board, which sits on my desk, is one of my many muses! Since it is related to fashion/accessories I figured that I would discuss it here on the blog today. An inspiration board is simply a collage of images, quotations, objects, etc. that are somehow related to a central topic or theme. The purpose of an inspiration board is to focus, encourage and motivate you to achieve your end goal (whatever it may be). There are no limits or rules. Therefore, your board can be whatever you want it to be.

Here are a few steps I used when creating my boards:

First, you need to figure out why you want to create an inspiration board. Inspiration boards can be used for a multitude of reasons such as personal style development, business plans, redecoration/remodeling projects, event planning, etc. The board I’ve posted above is a personal style board where I have made a collage of looks/accessories/colors that I would like to try and/or incorporate into my personal style. Second, you need to figure out what types of things inspire you visually.  The things that you find most interesting and intriguing should go on your board. Depending on what type of board you are seeking to create, your images should reflect your thought process regarding the subject or theme. Third, make it interesting. Add some funky background paper to spice your board up a bit. Check out places like Hobby Lobby and Michaels. The chevron print paper that you see in the background here is from Hobby Lobby. I used three sheets, which were about $0.75 each. I also purchased some special scissors, which I used to cut some of the pictures, which adds a little fringe and flare to the board as well.

Inspiration Board

My Pinterest Boards…

Fourth, place the board in a location where you can see it on a daily basis so that it is a constant reminder of the goals you have in mind. With a board figuratively jumping out at you, it will be hard for you to slack off too much in regards to your goals. Lastly, if you find that your board isn’t as inspiring as you would like it to be, change it! That’s one of the advantages of creating a board like this, you can change it anytime you feel like it and it won’t cost you anything. Boards are meant to be fun and productive projects so don’t take it too seriously. Well, do take it seriously, but remember that it is not meant to be a burden on you. Its meant to be an easy tool. Also remember that your board may constantly change. I am actually not finished with mine, but I don’t expect to ever be finished because I am constantly adding, removing, and altering the images on it. I expect this one to change a little with every season.

Most of the photographs on my board are from my Pinterest account online.  The rest of the photos are from various magazines as well as some of my favorite bloggers’ websites. The board itself is from Ikea and retails for about $20. I have another board I bought from Target (for my personal goals) and that one was only about $10 so be sure to look around and see what kinds of boards are available in your price range. If you are the not arts and crafts type then create an account with Pinterest like the one pictured above and establish an inspiration board electronically.

What kinds of things inspire you? Do you have an inspiration board or some other method you use to motivate yourself? Are you on Pinterest? If so, do tell so that I can follow you.

Talk to you soon…xx

Tagged , , ,

3 thoughts on “Inspire Yourself

  1. mekalove says:

    Good read! My fear in creating a personal style board is excessive shopping. I do, however, have a picture of a BAD Chanel handbag from 2006 pinned to my wall. I would probably never find that particular bag but that’s my ultimate big girl bag. Not the classic Chanel (those are hot too). Going into the new year I’ll use this post as an inspiration to pull together my ideas for my new home. Thanks Nicci!

  2. Kerri says:

    Glad you posted this. I’m behind in doing everything but I’m determined to change that for 2013. It was your board that inspired me to do my own and of course it’s halfway done. But this weekend and before the new year I will finish it so that I may stay focused on my goals.

Leave a Reply

