Fashionable Girls Read Too

DSCN0114

One thing that I absolutely love to do is read! I can spend hours and hours in a bookstore, getting lost amongst all the plots and stories. And I love all sorts of books, non-fiction, fiction, science fiction and fantasy, etc. I love it all.

I just finished reading The Shack by William P. Young and it was such an amazing book. Taught me quite a bit about all the assumptions people tend to make about God and why bad things happen to good people. Basically, it’s about a man who has gone through some really rough times in his life and God writes him a note, telling him that they should meet at a shack (the place where the worse tragedy of his life happened). He goes there and actually meets God. Whoa, I mean, I don’t want to give too much away in case you want to read it but it is definitely a great read…be sure to check it out.

As I already mentioned in a previous post, I wrote my thesis on some science fiction novels written by Octavia Butler (Parable of the Sower and Parable of the Talents), but my favorite sci-fi series is the Sookie Stackhouse Mysteries by Charlaine Harris (I’ve read them ALL). I also love books like The Best of Me by Nicholas Sparks, House Rules by Jodi Picoult, The Help by Kathryn Stockett, The Racketeer by John Grisham, Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn, White Girl Problems by Babe Walker, The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo (loved the entire series) by Stieg Larsson, Starters by Lissa Price, The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins, and I could go on for another paragraph but I will stop there. Lol…

I dibble and dabble in a bit of non-fiction as well. Mark Nepo’s Book of Awakening is one of my favorite non-fiction daily reads. This is my third year reading it. I try to read other books (i.e. I’ve been reading Joel Osteen’s Your Best Life Begins Each Morning, which is a good one as well), but I always go back to the Book of Awakening. I can’t tell you how many copies I’ve given away to people who I thought would really like it (not to mention that I own the ebook and the actual book as well). Please go check that book out ASAP! It really helps you to appreciate all that you have instead of focusing your attention on what you don’t have in life.

As you all know I am the queen of creating wishlists, and yes, I do create book wishlists. I actually have a book journal (available for purchase on Amazon here) where I write down all the books I want to read and I cross them off the list as I read them. Crazy? Not so much…It’s just something I enjoy! Here are some books that I would like to read this year. You should join me in reading some of these titles:

  • My Soul To Keep (currently reading), The Living Blood, Blood Colony and My Soul To Take (Tanarive Due)
  • Home Front (Kristin Hannah)
  • Fashion 2.0: Blogging Your Way To The Front Row (Yuli Ziv)
  • Half The Sky (Nicholas Kristof and Sheryl WuDunn)
  • Starting Your Day Right (Joyce Meyers)
  • Lilith’s Brood & Seed To Harvest (Octavia Butler)
  • I Declare: 31 Promises To Speak Over Your Life (Joel Osteen)
  • Devil’s Wake & Domino Falls (Steven Barnes & Tanarive Due)
  • You Lost Me (David Kinnaman)
  • Heaven Is For Real (Todd Burpo & Lynn Vincent)

Okay that is everything…Whew…Lol…There are a few other books on my wishlist but they aren’t out yet. To make life easier on myself, I sometimes listen to audiobooks. This makes reading go by a lot faster, especially if you have several books you want to get through simultaneously. I use www.Audible.com to download my audiobooks. Their membership is much more afforable than buying the audiobooks outright or from iTunes. Audiobooks usually go for about $20-$40 depending on the narrator and the popularity of the book, so $14.95 per month on Audible is a steal.

Okay, I hope I didn’t overload you all with too much information, but definitely let me know what books you’re reading right now. I am always looking to broaden my horizons. Be blessed! xx

Tagged , , , , ,

One thought on “Fashionable Girls Read Too

  1. umdterp03 says:

    Great post!

Leave a Reply

