The Desk

DSCN0202

For some reason, both at work and at home, I have to have cute accessories on my desk. I mean, having a desk job is boring enough with being forced to use blue and black ink pens and square yellow post-its all day every day. Inserting a bit of you and your personality to your work space, whether at home or at work, is one key to getting things done. I know what you all are thinking…I am too old for pink heart post-its and Hello Kitty journals, right? What about no! Girly things make me happy. I like writing with mint green pens, customizing my stationary, and buying girly-looking journals…Although you may not be into that sort of thing, you should find your own way to insert who you are into your office space.

DSCN0172

Sometime ago, my mother bought me this paperweight by Annie Lee and I am still in love with it.  This is sooooo me! Passed out on the couch amongst shopping bags (Maxed Out is what it’s called). How appropriate?! Lol…Trust, that I don’t max out my credit cards (anymore…Lol), but I used to have the tendency to shop until I dropped back in the day.

DSCN0175

As you all know I have an inspiration board sitting on my desk as well (although I need to update it with my spring/summer inspiration). I even find that displaying my Pinterest boards while I am blogging, or trying to come up with ideas, is very helpful. Organization is also a large part of being successful. Keeping a calendar and developing a plan, month by month, of what you need to get done is incredibly helpful. I have recently started keeping a blogging calendar on my desk so that I know which days I am supposed to be writing, scheduling posts, and publishing (my current goal is at least two posts per week). But I can’t take all the credit for this idea. LaToya from Something Blue Weddings DC actually inspired me to keep this sort of calendar.

DSCN0183

As I mentioned in my book post here, I am obsessed with books! Whether they are spiritually motivating or just fashionably fun, I always have books on my desk. I have books on any and every topic that interests me sitting on my desk so that I can quickly access them. The books below are ones that I reach for often.

DSCN0188

One last thing that isn’t normally on my desk, but is currently fun to look at are my graduation announcements. Graduating from Georgetown with my Masters degree is one of my greatest accomplishments, and basking in the notion that I did it (with God’s help, of course) has made me realize that the things that are worth having in life aren’t always easy to obtain. Sometimes, you have to want things so badly that you just refuse to give up…So go after what you want because you may be very surprised at the outcome.

DSCN0178

How do you keep your desk organized/interesting? Am I the only one who likes post-its that are made into various shapes?

I hope you all enjoyed this post. Talk to you soon!

xx…Kel

Tagged , , ,

One thought on “The Desk

  1. umdterp03 says:

    So cute! I’m loving the Calendar idea…I SO need more organization in my life. You’re such an inspiration!

Leave a Reply

