Sugar Fix: The Texturized Manicure

DSCN0418

Everyone seems to be going crazy over these texturized manicures so I thought I would see what all the hype was about. I purchased Sally Hansen’s Sugar Coat in Sugar Fix (white) and tried my hand at this manicure. I think the look is cute if you want to try something different. I would probably wear these if I was going to a fun fashionable event or if I just felt like switching my nail polish game up a bit, but I doubt that I would wear something like this on a daily basis. I also should have chosen a different color (blue, green, coral, something…) as opposed to white. Sometimes white nail polish can look very harsh on darker complexions:

DSCN0419

DSCN0421

In these swatches I only used one coat and the nail polish dried pretty quickly. You do not need a top coat (obviously), and the color comes off very easily with regular nail polish remover. No excessive scrubbing needed! Be sure to only apply one coat for this look. Even though the instructions state that you should apply two thin coats, if you apply two, the nail polish will not dry to look like these swatches, it will look clumpy…at least, that was my experience.

Overall, I think the texturized look is a cool concept, but  I don’t think this look is something I would wear often. First, I don’t really care for matte nails. I’m old school, I like my nails to shine bright! Because of the fact that this particular nail polish is textured, white and matte, it makes your hands look a bit dry even if they aren’t, which is a major problem for me!

Be sure to check out other texture mani option from brands such as OPI (Liquid Sand), Zoya (Pixie Dust), China Glaze (Texture), Milani (Texture), etc. Although I don’t LOVE this mani I do like it. I also want to try to Zoya Pixie Dust because those are infused with a bit of glitter, which may add some pizazz.

Have any of you tried any of the texturized manicures? If so, let me know your thoughts…

I hope you all enjoyed this post and are having a great week…BTW: 3 more days until the weekend! WhooHoo! xx

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

